What does MFDS stand for?

The Diploma of Membership of the Faculty of Dental Surgery.

What does the MFDS exam involve?  

The diploma is managed by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. The exam has two parts.  

  • Part 1 is organised jointly by the two colleges. 
  • Part 2 is organised by each college separately. 

The format for each exam is the same wherever it is held. Sittings are held at least twice a year in the UK. Exams overseas will be held according to demand.

Part 1 of the exam includes two written papers of three hours:

  • The first paper consists of short answer questions.
  • The second includes multiple choice and extended-matching questions.

You will be awarded either a pass or a fail. 

You can only sit Part 2 of the MFDS exam with written confirmation that you have passed Part 1.

The exam consists of an objective structured clinical exam (OSCE) of two hours. You will be awarded either a pass or a fail. 

For more information on how we can help you arrange to sit this exam, please contact our team