What does MRCP stand for?

Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians.

It is a membership shared between the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow and the Royal College of Physicians of London. The MRCP UK exam plays an essential role in the overall educational experience and continuing professional development of physicians in the UK. It is a pre-requisite for physicians wishing to undergo training in a medically-related speciality in the UK.

What does the MRCP exam involve?

The exam consists of three sections:

Part 1 consists of two three hour multiple-choice question papers covering knowledge and understanding of the clinical sciences.
Part 2 consists of three three hour multiple-choice question papers covering diagnosis, investigation, management and prognosis of patients.
• Part 3 Clinical Examination (PACES) involves a series of five clinical stations, each assessed by two independent examiners.

In the UK the exam is usually taken during the two year period of general professional training (GPT) in medicine after you have registered with the UK General Medical Council.

Why should I take it?

The MRCP is recognised as an entry qualification into higher specialist training for doctors wishing to become specialist registrars.

How can I register?

You need to apply online at the MRCP (UK) website. To find out how, visit MRCP’s Online Examination Services.

You must then contact the British Council who will administer the exam at our Tripoli centre.

When are the exams and how much do they cost?

For dates and examinations fees, please visit MRCP website for more information on Part 1 and Part 2.